Lake Tahoe Sledding & Tubing: Parks, Prices & Kids’ Rules
Choose the activity your youngest child can actually use, then compare the whole group’s cost. Tahoe has walk-up sled hills, managed tubing lanes with uphill transport, and public snow-play areas. They have different ticket, equipment and child-riding rules.
By the I Love Lake Tahoe editorial team · Sources checked October 25, 2026. Granlibakken’s booking page includes 2026–27 holiday pricing. Several other parks still display season-closed notices. Their published prices below are planning references, not confirmed new-season offers. Check the exact activity’s opening and road conditions before travel.
Three different snow days
Walk up between rides
Granlibakken’s saucer hill, Tahoe Donner Snowplay and Adventure Mountain require climbing back up. Choose these when repeated walking suits your group; a paid ticket does not imply a lift.
Ride uphill, then tube down
Soda Springs Tube Town publishes a moving carpet; Sierra’s Blizzard Mountain publishes lift-served tubing. Check child eligibility and whether the uphill service will operate that day.
Play without the big lanes
North Tahoe Regional Park’s Mellow Meadow is a smaller play area. Soda Springs Planet Kids has separate children’s activities. Snow play still needs supervision and suitable conditions.
Keep a South Shore outing local
Hansen’s is in South Lake Tahoe; TubeTahoe is along Highway 50 in Meyers. Adventure Mountain and Sierra involve the mountain corridor. Choose around lodging and road conditions.
Eight places, three travel areas
Use these venue searches to orient yourself, then follow the operator’s entrance and parking instructions. The overview map is not a live road report or a map of approved sled runs.
South Lake Tahoe & Highway 50
Tahoe City, North Shore & Truckee
Compare the parks and their rules
1. Adventure Mountain · walk-up tubing
21200 Highway 50 · Echo Summit
The season page still says closed. Typical hours are not an opening commitment. The listed daytime format is $20 per vehicle for parking and snow-play access, plus a two-hour tubing pass: $40 at 45 inches and over, $35 at 44 inches and under. Tubes are supplied; sleds and personal tubing equipment are prohibited.
The FAQ requires walking uphill and first-come entry, with no reservations. Children three and older need a tubing-area pass; lap riding is discouraged. Pricing heights are not a minimum riding height. Ask about a small child and any gap between the published height bands. Refund terms are not stated on these pages. Outside food and pets other than service animals are prohibited.
Drop-offs: taxi/rideshare arrivals still owe the entrance fee. Walk-ins, entrance drop-offs and dropping off minor children are not allowed; confirm permitted arrangements before booking a ride.
2. Hansen’s · tubing close to town
3635 Needle Peak Road · South Lake Tahoe
Hansen’s says its 2025–26 season is shut and to return for 2026–27, without a confirmed opening date. Its displayed rate is $40 per person for one hour, cash only, with equipment included. Children four and under are listed free with a paying adult. Personal equipment is prohibited.
A free child price does not establish lap-riding permission or a minimum age. Uphill transport, spectator charges, parking inclusions and refunds are not specified. Call 530-544-3361 to resolve those points and check the current rate before choosing this for a young child.
3. TubeTahoe · sessions with a spectator tier
3021 US Highway 50 · Meyers
The price page still says closed for the season. Its 90-minute sessions include parking and tube rental. Weekday / Friday–Sunday rates are: ages 13+, $65 / $75; ages 6–12, $55 / $65; ages 3–5, $35 / $45; snow play or spectators, $15 / $25. The weekday price heading does not spell out holiday exceptions.
Resolve the child-rule conflict: ages 3–5 are told to ride with a paying adult, while the FAQ limits shared tubes to minors under 42 inches. Under-threes cannot use the large lanes. Call 530-600-2304 if those age and height rules overlap for your child. Do not infer permission from the fare.
The FAQ says first come, first served, while the site also has a booking link. Confirm booking, uphill assistance and refund terms. Use the designated shared Holiday Market lot; outside tubes and sleds are prohibited.
4. Blizzard Mountain · lift-served tubing
E Lot, 1111 Sierra at Tahoe Road · Twin Bridges
Sierra’s activity page says closed for 2025–26. The displayed prices are $65 tubing with tube and lift access, or $45 sledding/snow-play entry. Sleds are sold separately; do not assume a sled is included. The page lists a 10 a.m.–4 p.m. operating window and last sales at 3 p.m., not a guaranteed new-season schedule.
Tickets are sold on site, first come, first served. Children under 42 inches are listed free with a paying adult; this does not define the minimum height or shared-tube rules. Confirm those, personal-sled permission, parking charges and refunds before driving. Tubing, the separate sled zone and snow play can have different availability.
5. Tahoe Donner Snowplay · tubes and sleds
12790 Northwoods Boulevard · Truckee
The reservation page still says closed for the season and does not show a confirmed new-season price. Reserve online; sessions last 75 minutes. Tubes and sleds are included, personal equipment is prohibited, and riders walk uphill.
Tubing requires 36 inches and one rider per tube. Sleds allow up to two people; under-36-inch children need an adult with them. Everyone entering needs a ticket, including free-ticket visitors. The rules say under-12s need a paid adult; the FAQ includes age 12. Confirm supervision for a 12-year-old.
Cancellation terms exclude refunds, exchanges or cancellations for weather, roads or illness. Tickets are sold up to seven days ahead. The operator’s support page identifies public restrooms near the entrance; recreation-center facilities have separate member/guest access.
6. Granlibakken · walk-up saucer sledding
725 Granlibakken Road · Tahoe City
The resort describes 90-minute sessions with saucers included and asks visitors needing ADA sledding equipment to contact it in advance. The linked booking page offers two slopes, no uphill lift and no personal sleds or tubes. Children under eight should be supervised by an adult on the same reservation.
Its 2026–27 table lists ages four and older at $28 non-holiday weekdays or $39.50 weekends/holidays and evening sessions. Ages 0–3 are free but must be booked with a paid ticket. Check the calendar; a displayed time slot does not prove the hill is open.
Sledding cancellation policy: full refund with at least 24 hours’ notice before the booked day; no refund inside that window. Ask guest services for the exact cutoff. Parking and checkout extras are not itemized in the reviewed rate table.
7. Soda Springs · Tube Town and Planet Kids
10244 Soda Springs Road · Donner Summit area
Tube Town has conveyor access and requires riders to be at least 42 inches tall. Tubes are supplied; personal sleds and tubes are prohibited. Mountain Adventure is a day product with variable rates, covering designated snow activities rather than the main ski lifts. All entrants need tickets except non-walking children under two.
Check eight-year-olds carefully: Planet Kids says tubing is for eight and under, but its access heading says seven and under and the overview says under eight. The overview also names a 42-inch condition for children’s tubing. Ask 530-426-1010 which attractions your child can use. The smaller carpet and learning zones have separate restrictions.
New-season opening, your date’s price, parking and refund terms need checking in the live booking flow. Do not use an old resort pass announcement as proof that tubing is operating.
8. North Tahoe Regional Park · public hills
Tahoe Vista · different parking zones within the park
The district lists three hills: Mellow Meadow, a smaller area at the entrance; Tower Hill above the upper lot; and Sunny Slope above Field 4, described as the steepest and fastest. All three still show season-closed notices. Grooming depends on conditions. This is public sledding at your own risk, without the managed-ticket service described at the other venues.
The parking schedule lists non-resident November–March weekends/holidays at $20 for the main park, zone 12890, or $30 for Mellow Meadow, zone 12888; non-holiday weekdays are $5. The winter page instead starts peak pricing at Thanksgiving. Confirm the applicable charge for early-November visits. Pay stations and ParkMobile are available; cash is accepted at the restroom pay stations.
See the difference between the hills
These historical videos show the settings and types of activity. They do not verify today’s surface, crowding, safety arrangements, prices or opening. Use the current operator rules above.
Choose by the exact activity, age and height
- Under 36 inches: Tahoe Donner’s sledding rule provides for riding with an adult; its tubes do not. Ask the other operator about its own small-child area.
- 36–41 inches: Tahoe Donner’s tubing height threshold may fit, but the child must ride alone. Soda Springs Tube Town still does not qualify.
- 42 inches or taller: Tube Town’s height threshold may fit; confirm all remaining requirements. TubeTahoe’s age/shared-riding conflict still needs clarification for ages 3–5.
- A child who wants snow but no downhill ride: compare a designated play area and the accompanying adult’s ticket. Do not buy a main-lane ticket before checking the child’s willingness and eligibility.
For a first outing, our recommendation is a nearby venue and a short session with time to warm up. Ask about accessible equipment, the route from parking, toilets and a non-riding adult’s access before purchasing. A free child ticket is a pricing provision, not a safety endorsement.
Worked family budgets
These are calculated examples from the linked prices, checked October 25, 2026. They exclude travel, meals, clothing and unlisted taxes or booking fees. Where parking is not explicitly included, the subtotal does not assume it is free. Reprice for your date and exact party.
Granlibakken: two adults, a six-year-old and a two-year-old
$84 weekday · $118.50 weekend/holiday
Three paid tickets × $28 = $84, or 3 × $39.50 = $118.50. Book the toddler’s free ticket too. Each covers a 90-minute session with a saucer; walking uphill is required. This is the published 2026–27 table, not a completed checkout quote.
The booking page checked October 25 now lists holiday bands of December 21, 2026–January 3, 2027; January 16–18; and February 13–20. Earlier displayed ranges differed; use the current selected-date rate before paying. Evening sessions use $39.50. Parking and checkout extras remain unitemized. The cancellation cutoff is at least 24 hours before the booked day. Check prices and dates · Read refund terms.
Adventure Mountain: four tubers arriving in one vehicle
$170 listed daytime subtotal
Assume two riders in the 45-inch-and-over band and two in the 44-inch-and-under band, all old enough and otherwise eligible: $20 vehicle entry + 2 × $40 + 2 × $35 = $170. Tubes and two hours of tubing are included. A second vehicle adds another $20 before any unlisted extras.
The price page sits alongside a season-closed notice. This is an older/undated planning reference; confirm 2026–27 rates, child eligibility, capacity and refund terms. Walk-up entry cannot be reserved. Check listed prices · Check entry rules.
TubeTahoe: two adults, children ages eight and ten, plus one spectator
$255 weekday · $305 Friday–Sunday
Weekday: 2 × $65 + 2 × $55 + $15 = $255. Friday–Sunday: 2 × $75 + 2 × $65 + $25 = $305. The listed 90-minute rate includes parking and tube rental; the spectator gets the separate snow-play/spectator admission, not tubing.
Both children are above the mini-tuber age tier. Confirm remaining riding requirements, holiday treatment and refunds. The site still says closed for the season, so these are displayed reference rates, not guaranteed 2026–27 prices. Check the price table.
Public snow play: one non-resident car, equipment already owned
$5 weekday · $20 or $30 winter weekend parking
At North Tahoe Regional Park, the published non-holiday weekday vehicle fee is $5. A winter weekend is $20 in the main-park zone or $30 at Mellow Meadow. The fee is per car, so four occupants do not multiply it by four. Add any parking-payment service charge shown at payment and the cost of equipment you still need.
For comparison, a California SNO-PARK day permit bought online is $15 + $1.95 = $16.95 per vehicle. It neither reserves parking nor supplies a tube, lift or staffed run. Permits are nonrefundable, including when your preferred lot is full. District parking terms · SNO-PARK permit terms.
Does “free sledding” mean a free day?
No. Separate the hill charge, parking or permit, equipment and supervision. At North Tahoe Regional Park, arrival on foot or bicycle does not incur the vehicle-use fee, but that is useful only when a lawful, suitable route and open hill exist. Do not park on a highway shoulder to avoid paying.
California SNO-PARK permits apply November 1–May 30 and parking is first come, first served. A permit is not permission to slide anywhere nearby. Check the land manager’s allowed activities and closures. Taylor Creek still lists a partial public-access closure; use only an open, permitted area and stay away from heavy equipment.
Dogs: pet access to a park does not mean access to its sled hill. Check the dog-specific hiking and sledding rules; Tahoe City Winter Sports Park excludes dogs from its sled hill and ice rink. For more lower-cost ideas, see the winter budget guide.
Prepare for the drive and the walk uphill
Use Caltrans QuickMap and Nevada 511 for current road restrictions. Our conditions page adds weather and camera links. Keep an indoor alternative near your lodging if the hill closes or the drive is unsuitable.
Bring snow boots, waterproof gloves and outer layers, plus dry socks. Follow the venue’s helmet guidance and ask whether rentals are available. Keep loose items secure, use designated walking lanes and leave the runout clear. Avoid slopes ending near traffic, trees or water. Pack food only where the operator allows it; see the winter packing checklist.
Quick answers
Where can I bring my own sled?
Confirm the rules for the exact public hill. The managed venues above generally supply equipment and prohibit outside sleds or tubes; Sierra’s separate sledding area needs a specific equipment check. “Snow play” does not automatically permit every device.
Can an adult share a tube with a child?
There is no basin-wide rule. Tahoe Donner prohibits shared tubes but permits two on a sled. TubeTahoe publishes age and height provisions that need clarification. Ask the operator about the child’s measured height and age rather than relying on a free or discounted ticket.
Which hill is best for a first visit?
Our practical order is: eligibility, road conditions, distance from lodging, uphill effort, then total cost. A nearby suitable hill is usually a better starting point than crossing the basin for a nominally cheaper ticket.
When does tubing open for winter 2026–27?
Opening is venue- and activity-specific. Several reviewed pages still carry closed-season notices. Check the tubing operation itself; a ski mountain opening or a booking calendar’s default date is not enough.
How this comparison was made
We compared published operator and district pages for activity type, age/height rules, session length, equipment, parking, booking and refunds. Budget totals are our arithmetic for the stated groups. Unknowns and conflicting source wording are left explicit. This is a researched comparison, not an editor’s field test, measured access audit or live ticket quote. Historical videos are attributed to their creators.
