I Love Lake Tahoe
Menu

Lake Tahoe Ice Skating: 7 Outdoor & Indoor Rinks

For indoor skating, start with Tahoe Ice Arena in South Lake Tahoe. For an outdoor outing, choose a village or town rink near your lodging. Compare the actual public session, skate sizes and full price before planning the rest of the day.

By the I Love Lake Tahoe editorial team · Checked October 25, 2026. Outdoor 2026–27 calendars are incomplete. Published rates below are planning references, not live quotes or proof that a rink is open. A resort opening date is not necessarily its rink opening date.

Choose the setting first

Indoor: a scheduled skating session

Tahoe Ice Arena separates public skating from hockey, lessons and other ice time. Choose it when the skate itself matters most. Indoor ice avoids direct wind and precipitation; it does not remove winter road risks or guarantee a session.

Compare the indoor arena

Outdoor: a village or resort outing

Heavenly, Edgewood, Tahoe City, Northstar, Truckee and Everline provide different outdoor settings. Weather, ice maintenance and seasonal operations can change the plan. Choose the nearest suitable rink, then add food or browsing locally.

Compare outdoor rinks

Fast choices: South Shore with beginners: check the arena’s helpers and public calendar. A Tahoe City base: check the Winter Sports Park’s 90-minute slots. Already at Northstar: verify the village rink before adding a drive. Olympic Valley: confirm Everline’s guest policy and rental package. Prices alone do not justify crossing the basin during poor road conditions.

Northstar Village outdoor ice rink beside lodge buildings and a Christmas tree in November 2016
Northstar’s village rink illustrates an outdoor skating setting with surrounding shops and lodging. Photo taken November 25, 2016; it does not show current ice or operations. Tahoe Signature Properties / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0; resized under the same license.

Rink locations: keep the outing near your base

Truckee and Northstar are inland, north of the lake. Everline is in Olympic Valley; Tahoe City is on the northwest shore. Heavenly, Edgewood and Tahoe Ice Arena are separate South Shore destinations. The links below open each named venue in Maps; confirm its entrance and parking instructions with the operator.

South Lake Tahoe / Stateline

Three separate stops

North Tahoe / Truckee

Four different bases

Regional orientation only. Use the seven venue links for individual rink locations; this map does not show live road restrictions or a measured walking route.

South Lake Tahoe and Stateline

1. Tahoe Ice Arena · indoor

Session and booking: choose public skating on the daily ice calendar; lengths vary. The operator says reservations are unnecessary for public skate. Hockey and lesson blocks are separate.

  • Admission and rentals: over 10, $20 with rentals or $16 with your own skates; ages 4–10, $10 either way; ages 3 and under, free. Figure and hockey rentals are available.
  • Children and helpers: beginner skate helpers are offered; their charge and availability are not specified. Confirm the smallest rental size and helmet provision.
  • Spectators: a public-skate spectator fee and seating entitlement are not stated on the reviewed page; ask before counting a non-skater as free.
  • Conditions: waivers, capacity limits and schedule changes apply; purchases are nonrefundable and nontransferable. Read the current public-skate terms.
Inside the arena: GetawayRenoTahoe’s public-skating video, published April 9, 2012. Use this historical view to understand the indoor setting; its prices, staff, amenities and schedule are not current evidence. Watch the original video.

2. Heavenly Village · outdoor

Season status: the village’s listing still says winter 2025/26. It shows four sessions: 10 a.m.–12:30 p.m., 1–3 p.m., 3:30–5:30 p.m. and 6–8 p.m., weather permitting. These are historical listed slots, not a confirmed 2026–27 calendar.

  • Older-season price reference: $25 ages 12+, $20 ages 4–11, under 4 free; rental skates included, with $5 off for own skates. Do not treat this as a new-season quote.
  • Children and spectators: current minimum rental size, skate aids, helmets, supervision rules and spectator charges remain unconfirmed. In particular, the listed free tier is under 4, not age 4.
  • Book/check: the separate rink website was unreachable during this review. Use the village listing or its rink number, 530-578-0009, to confirm the season, session, prices and re-entry. Budget separately for village parking.

3. Edgewood on Ice · outdoor resort rink

The activity page advertises 4–9:30 p.m., last ticket at 9 p.m., with possible 30-minute resurfacing breaks. Weather can change operations. The page does not establish complete 2026–27 dates or the duration bought by one ticket.

  • Published rate sheet: non-lodge guests $35 adult / $20 child; lodge guests $25 / $15. Skate rentals are included; tax is extra. The linked PDF has a 2024 upload path and no clear season label, so reconfirm these figures and non-guest availability.
  • Child fit and supervision: smallest listed skate is children’s size 12; under-12s need an accompanying adult. Carrying children on the ice is prohibited. The child-price age cutoff, aids and helmet rental are not specified.
  • Spectators and booking: confirm off-ice access, seating, parking and any charge with the concierge. Only skaters may enter the ice. Read the linked pricing and rink rules.

North Shore, Truckee and Olympic Valley

4. Tahoe City Winter Sports Park · outdoor

The operator anticipates a November 2026 return, but detailed weekly hours still contain 2025–26 program dates. Use the new reservation calendar when released, not those old hockey and curling hours.

  • Session: 90-minute ice slots. Advance booking is recommended; walk-up space is limited, especially weekends and holidays.
  • Price and equipment: the reviewed information page does not provide a clear new-season admission-and-rental total. Check the selected ticket for rentals, equipment sizes, helmets and aids.
  • Family and spectator access: confirm adult-supervision requirements and the non-skater policy. Ice skating, sledding and trail activities are separate choices; an open rink does not establish usable snow trails.
  • Book/check: Winter Sports Park and reservation link · 530-583-1516. Use the actual rink entrance and parking instructions for 251 N. Lake Boulevard.

5. Northstar Village · outdoor

The resort’s village itinerary says everyone may use the rink and rental skates are available. That does not establish free admission. Its current hours page lists the summer rink closed, with ice skating to return.

  • Unconfirmed for 2026–27: opening date, daily sessions, time limits, admission, rental charge and booking procedure.
  • Children and watchers: ask about smallest skates, helmets, aids, supervision and whether non-skaters may use nearby seating. Village access is not a promise of reserved rink seating or included parking.
  • Book/check: Northstar operating hours. Choose this for a Northstar day when the rink is confirmed; avoid adding a separate mountain drive based on an older travel guide’s price.

6. Truckee Ice Rink · outdoor municipal rink

The district rink page still displays a seasonal closure. Its Friday–Sunday schedule does not confirm a new opening date. The rink is at Truckee River Regional Park, 10500 Brockway Road.

  • Posted daily admission: nonresident adult $14, youth/senior $12; resident adult $10, youth/senior $9. Rentals add $8 per skater. Confirm the season, youth/senior age cutoffs and resident qualification.
  • Payment: rink payments are card only. The district’s current notice adds 3% to card transactions over $20; include that in a group estimate.
  • Session and access: prices are described as daily admission, but re-entry, specific public-session length, spectator charges, aids, helmet availability and smallest skates are not clearly stated.
  • Book/check: use the district’s opening update and public-skate instructions. Private rink-rental and season-pass buttons are not automatically a single-session reservation.

7. Everline Resort · outdoor, Olympic Valley

The resort announces a November 2–23, 2026 closure. Its holiday calendar lists Santa skating December 24–27, noon–2 p.m.; that event does not establish the full public-skate calendar.

  • Linked price-sheet reference: standard rental-inclusive package $30 one hour / $50 half day / $70 full day. Kids package $20 / $35 / $50; own-skate access $20 / $35 / $50. The PDF filename refers to 2025–26, so verify new-season pricing, child ages and what “half day” means.
  • Equipment: figure skates, hockey skates and helmets are listed for rental. Helmet inclusion, skate aids and minimum skate sizes need confirmation.
  • Guest and spectator access: confirm non-guest eligibility, accompanying non-skaters, seating and parking before traveling. Recreation-office hours are not rink hours.
  • Book/check: recreation team 530-584-4024 · winter activities · linked price sheet · 2026 holiday calendar.

Three worked skating budgets

These examples compare the posted components, not live bookings. Add transport, parking, food, taxes and any checkout fees that apply. Different age bands and time limits mean the cheapest headline price may not be the cheapest suitable outing.

South Shore family: two adults, children ages 8 and 10

At Tahoe Ice Arena, four rental-skate admissions total $60: 2 × $20 + 2 × $10. If only the adults bring skates, the subtotal is $52. Children’s admission stays $10 with or without skates.

That is an $8 saving for the group, not $4 off every child ticket. Select an actual public session before planning a meal. A non-skating grandparent’s access and any fee require a separate check.

Edgewood couple: compare lodge and non-lodge rates

For two adults using the linked sheet, non-lodge admission with rentals totals $70 before tax; lodge-guest admission totals $50 before tax. The $20 difference is a guest-rate comparison, not a reason to book a hotel without comparing its total cost.

The sheet does not define a ticket’s duration or an own-skate discount. Confirm those points, the season, parking and non-guest access with the resort. Do not assume the full evening is included.

Truckee group: two nonresident adults and two qualifying youths

At the currently posted rates, admission is 2 × $14 + 2 × $12 = $52. Four $8 rentals add $32, making $84. With the district’s 3% card fee, the planning total is $86.52.

If all four bring skates, the same fee calculation gives $53.56, a $32.96 difference. This assumes all four qualify for the stated categories and one transaction over $20. The page does not define the youth cutoff or confirm 2026–27 reopening, so verify both before relying on the estimate.

Children, beginners and non-skating companions

Fit comes before the ticket price. Ask for the smallest rental size, whether your child’s own skates are acceptable, a helmet option and a properly sized skating aid. A free young-child admission does not establish a suitable rental size or permission for an adult to carry the child on the ice.

Confirm the adult’s role. “Accompanied” may require an adult on the ice rather than watching from a café. Ask whether that adult needs a paid skating ticket. For spectators, check access, a place to sit, warmth and any fee; the reviewed sources do not establish a uniform free-spectator policy.

Plan a first session around comfort. Allow time for fitting skates and a break, with warm layers and gloves. Ask the venue about beginner instruction and its rules. For mobility or sensory needs, confirm parking-to-door access, step-free routes, toilets and quieter public sessions directly; snow can change access around outdoor rinks.

Before you choose a session

  1. Check whether the rink is operating on your date and whether the slot is public skate.
  2. Add admission, rentals, aids, tax, payment charges and parking for the whole group.
  3. Confirm sizes, child supervision, spectator access and the cancellation policy before paying.
  4. Recheck the Tahoe conditions guide before travel. For a weather change, choose a nearby alternative from our winter activities guide.

Ice-skating questions

Is there indoor ice skating in Lake Tahoe?

Tahoe Ice Arena in South Lake Tahoe offers scheduled public skating indoors. Use its calendar; building access, hockey and public skate are different things.

Which outdoor rink is best for a Tahoe City stay?

Start with Tahoe City Winter Sports Park because it is in town. Compare its available slot and full package with your needs before considering Northstar or Olympic Valley.

Can I skate without staying at a resort?

Northstar describes its rink as open to everyone, and Edgewood’s linked sheet includes a non-lodge rate. That does not guarantee current availability. Confirm Everline’s non-guest policy directly.

Does bringing skates always save money?

No. The arena’s child admission is unchanged, while its over-10 tier distinguishes rentals. Other rinks separate rentals or publish different packages. Compare the actual age category and session.

Research method: we reviewed the linked rink, resort and district pages on October 25, 2026, visually checked the Edgewood and Everline PDFs and calculated the examples above. Truckee’s page was verified in a browser after a direct-fetch error. Heavenly’s separate rink site could not be reached; its village’s older-season listing is identified. This is a researched comparison, not a personal rink visit or a live booking. Historical media illustrates settings and does not verify today’s facilities.

ADMIN ONLY

What’s happening in Tahoe

Activity from the last 30 days. Page views are anonymous and may include bots; they are not unique visitor counts. Your admin views are excluded.

    Refreshes every 20 seconds while this page is visible. Message activity shows counts, never message text. Open chat moderation

    Tahoe, a tap away

    Keep Tahoe on your phone

    Save the app for quick access to weather, local stories and your next adventure.

    Your Tahoe companion

    Take Tahoe with you

    Your favorite Tahoe guides, right on your Home Screen.

    No app store or account needed. Adding the app is free.

    iPhone or iPad
    1. Open this site in Safari.
    2. Open Share (it may be inside the More menu).
    3. Choose Add to Home Screen. If shown, keep Open as Web App on, then tap Add.
    4. Open the new Tahoe icon, then choose Alerts.

    Phone notifications require iOS/iPadOS 16.4 or newer and opening Tahoe from its Home Screen icon.

    Android
    1. Open this site in Chrome.
    2. Tap Install Tahoe above when available, or open Chrome’s menu and choose Add to Home screen or Install app.
    3. Open Tahoe and choose Alerts to pick your updates.

    On a computer, use the browser’s install icon when available. You can always keep using the website.

    ×